RLPA Players’ Champion On 9GEM

In a first for footy fans, the prestigious Players’ Champion Awards will join the home of rugby league when they are broadcast for the first time LIVE and FREE on 9GEM from 7.30pm tomorrow night, September 12. 

The best NRL player of the 2017 season as voted by the players will be crowned live from the 24/7 Sports Bar at The Star Sydney, with hosts Erin Molan and James Bracey being joined by award presenters Johnathan Thurston, Andrew Johns, Wally Lewis, Sally Pearson and Cameron Williams.

An edgy and fast-paced night will play out, with entertainment from Voli K setting the scene before the star-studded top seven list including Cameron Smith, James Tedesco and Sam Burgess vie for The Players’ Champion Award.

The broadcast will feature a special tribute to Rugby League Players Association General President, Cameron Smith, and his history-making achievements throughout 2017. 

The RLPA will also recognise the Australian Men’s and Women’s Representative Player of the Year, The Players’ 13 Dream Team of the Year and Rookie of the Year, as well as inducting Origin Greats.

Speaking ahead of the event, CEO of the RLPA, Ian Prendergast, said: “Broadcasting the event live on 9GEM is a perfect opportunity to showcase the significance of this event to the rugby league players. This is truly a peer-voted award, which is why The Players’ Champion is held in such high regard by the players themselves.

“As the professionalism of our members drives incredible performances on-field, it’s important that we take The Players’ Champion Award to another level.”

Previous winners of The Players’ Champion Award include current NRL stars such as Jason Taumalolo (2016), Johnathan Thurston (2005, 2013-15), Darius Boyd (2010) and Jarryd Hayne (2009).

The Players’ Champion 2017: Top 7 Finalists

James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

For further information please contact Nine Publicity:
Ryley McKay 
Publicist – NRL  
T: 02 9965 2727 M: 0413 378 052  
E: rmckay@nine.com.au

Monday, September 11, 2017