Top Accolades For Nine News At Kennedy Media Awards

Last night the who’s who of Australian news celebrated the talents of the country’s finest journalists at the 6th Annual NRMA Kennedy Awards, with Nine News reporter Chris O’Keefe crowned Journalist of the Year.

O’Keefe’s exclusive on gross negligence at Bankstown Hospital which led to the death of a newborn baby and left another infant with brain damage after a nitrous oxide gas mix-up secured him the prestigious win. The story also earned him the award of Scoop of the Year. 

In a stellar night for O’Keefe, he also received awards for Outstanding Political Journalist and Outstanding Television News Reporting, O’Keefe, who has been with Nine News for six years, said he was honoured to receive the prestigious Journalist of the Year Award.

“I am so humbled. To win awards named in honour of two of the giants of our industry is really something special. Nothing we achieve can be done without the team at Nine News. We know we have a duty to our viewers to deliver accurate and top-quality stories every night. It’s a privilege to do what we do,” he said.

“Most importantly, to have been allowed to tell the Ghanem family’s story was an honour. I’m proud we gave them a voice in such a horrible situation. There is nothing that will rectify what happened to them, but telling their story demonstrated just how important journalism is.”

Director of Nine News Sydney, Simon Hobbs, congratulated O’Keefe on his well-earned win.

“We are immensely proud of Chris and his contribution to Nine News. One of his greatest strengths as State Political Reporter is that he fundamentally understands that his role is not about politics or politicians – it's about the people of NSW,” Hobbs said. 

“He is always the first to ask, ‘How will this decision impact on mums and dads, kids and grandparents?’ He is, and will continue to be, a fierce advocate for the people of this great city and state.”

Adding to the accolades for Nine News was Adam Bovino’s award for Outstanding Television News Camera Coverage. senior journalist Emily McPherson was also recognised in the Outstanding Online News Breaking category for her series of online articles highlighting the tragic death of 15-year-old Victorian schoolgirl, Cassidy Trevan.

Cassidy Trevan committed suicide after a group of schoolyard bullies orchestrated her gang rape. McPherson broke the story of her death online and revealed the full circumstances that led to her tragic suicide.


• 2017 Coca-Cola Journalist of the Year: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

• Rebecca Wilson Award, Scoop of the Year: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

• Harry Potter Award, Outstanding Television News Reporting: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News) 

• Outstanding Political Journalist: Chris O’Keefe (Nine News)

• Gary Ticehurst Award, Outstanding Television News Camera Coverage: Adam Bovino (Nine News)

• Outstanding Online News Breaking: Emily McPherson (

For further information please contact:  
Peter Brennan
Publicist - Nine News Sydney
M: 0438 805 816

Saturday, August 12, 2017