Socceroos’ Face Honduras In Must-Win World Cup Qualifier

The Socceroos face their final hurdle for a berth at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia in a winner-take-all clash with Honduras on Nine’s Wide World of Sports, this Saturday at 8.00am* on 9GO!  

With their inspirational star, Tim Cahill, the Socceroos meet Honduras in a battle that invokes memories of Australia’s famous last-gasp victory over Uruguay in 2005.

The Socceroos have taken the long route on the road to Russia after missing out on automatic qualification, but have fought bravely to keep their World Cup dream alive in the final two-leg showdown. 

The tough Hondurans have a South American playing style that will have the Socceroos’ defence on high alert in a hostile away environment.

The first play-off leg from San Pedro Sula in Honduras will be broadcast Live and Free on 9GO! before the second leg in Sydney next Wednesday, November 15, with coverage from 7.30pm* on Channel Nine.

Socceroos legend Craig Moore joins the Wide World of Sports commentary team for both games, alongside WWOS football expert Michael Bridges and host Clint Stanaway.

Nine’s Director of Sport, Tom Malone, said: “It’s all on the line for the Socceroos and Wide World of Sports will have all the action from both matches against Honduras, with the return leg in Sydney bringing back memories of that famous win sealed with a John Aloisi penalty shoot-out goal in 2005.”


Saturday, November 11
Honduras vs Australia


Sydney 8.00am LIVE on 9Go!
Brisbane 7.00am LIVE on 9Go!
Melbourne 8.00am LIVE on 9Go!
Adelaide 7.30am LIVE on 9Go!
Perth 5.00am LIVE on 9Go!


Wednesday, November 15
Australia vs Honduras


Sydney 7.30pm LIVE on Nine
Brisbane 6.30pm LIVE on Nine
Melbourne 7.30pm LIVE on Nine
Adelaide 7.00pm LIVE on Nine
Perth 4.30pm LIVE on 9Go!

*check local guides for details


9Now will LIVE stream both World Cup Qualifiers


Tickets available at http://www.socceroos.com.au/tickets



For more information please contact: 
Ryley McKay
Nine Network Publicity 
E: rmckay@nine.com.au T: 02 9965 2727 M: 0413 378 052



Thursday, November 9, 2017