NRL On Nine: Round 3

THE 3 BEST GAMES ACROSS THE MAP PLUS THE VIKING CLAP
LIVE AND FREE 

Bennett  versus Bellamy, the return of Billy Slater and the famous Viking clap will feature in a huge weekend of rugby league on Nine when round three NRL action commences with the Storm-Broncos blockbuster on Thursday Night Football.

Nine’s Wide World of Sports will give viewers unmatched access at AAMI Park straight from the opening whistle when Wayne Bennett and Craig Bellamy, the two most successful coaches, and their star-studded rosters meet tomorrow night. 

With the biggest names in the game on display this clash is a must-see as champion fullback Billy Slater rejoins Storm kingpins Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk. They are up against the Broncos’ lethal attack weapons Anthony Milford, Darius Boyd and James Roberts.   

Nine’s rugby league expert, Andrew Johns, says: “This is a huge occasion for the Melbourne Storm with Billy Slater returning to the field but the Broncos will be up for the challenge.

“I think the Broncos will beat the Storm. Darius Boyd is in career-best form at the moment and the Broncos bench has been outstanding, so if they fire again the Broncos can get a win on arguably the toughest road trip in the competition – playing the Storm at home in Melbourne.”

Johns’ player to watch is Darius Boyd: “After taking over the Broncos captaincy this year Darius has really impressed me. He has taken more ownership of the team and his leadership will be crucial against the Storm with their clinical, no-nonsense approach.”

On Friday Night Football, the electrifying Eels are hoping to protect their spot at the top of the competition ladder against the Titans on the Gold Coast at CBUS Super Stadium.

The Titans will be on high alert for the Eels and their lightning fast backline that boasts Michael Jennings and Bevan French in combination with their brutal forward pack. 

On Sunday Afternoon Football, Nine travels to Canberra, the home of the Viking clap, when the Raiders host the Tigers at GIO Stadium.

Both teams will be desperate to bounce back after heavy last-round losses. The Raiders were one game short of a Grand Final appearance in 2016 and are yet to show their best in 2017, while the Tigers possess the brightest young talents in the game but need them all to fire against the Green Machine.

        


Broadcast Times

Thursday, March 16
Storm vs Broncos


Sydney 7.30pm LIVE on Nine
Brisbane 6.30pm LIVE on 9GEM; from 7.00pm LIVE on Nine 
Melbourne 7.30pm LIVE on 9GEM 
Adelaide 7.00pm LIVE on 9GEM
Perth 4.30pm LIVE on 9GEM


Friday, March 17
Titans vs Eels


Sydney 7.30pm LIVE on Nine
Brisbane 6.30pm LIVE on 9GEM; from 7.00pm LIVE on Nine 
Melbourne 7.30pm LIVE on 9GEM
Adelaide 7.00pm LIVE on 9GEM
Perth 4.30pm LIVE on 9GEM


Sunday, March 19
Raiders vs Tigers


Sydney 3.30pm LIVE on Nine
Brisbane 2.30pm LIVE on Nine 
Melbourne 3.30pm LIVE on 9GEM
Adelaide 3.00pm LIVE on 9GEM
Perth 12.30pm LIVE on 9GEM




RUGBY LEAGUE ACTION THIS WEEK ON NINE

SIX TACKLES WITH GUS – Nine’s James Bracey talks the biggest rugby league issues of the week with NRL legend and expert commentator Phil Gould on Six Tackles with Gus.

Podcast available for download here: Round 3 – Six Tackles with Gus

THE NRL FOOTY SHOW – Fatty, Erin, Beau and Darryl are back with the footy on Thursday night. Origin legend Chris “Choppy” Close tells of his life-changing battle, plus Tommy Raudonikis returns with the Raudonikis Report. Dragons stars Tariq Sims and Jack de Belin join the panel live. Available LIVE in every city across the country on 9NOW.

SPORTS SUNDAY – Sunday, March 19, at 10.30am AEDT, LIVE on Nine. Frank and open debate on all the issues in the week of sport. This week Peter FitzSimons, Michael Slater, Liz Ellis and Seb Costello join Emma Freedman.

THE SUNDAY FOOTY SHOW – Sunday, March 19, at 11.30am AEDT, LIVE on Nine. This week Darren Lockyer, Adam MacDougall and Glenn Lazarus join Peter Sterling.


**Check local guides for details. Times will differ.


For further information:
Ryley McKay - Nine Network Publicity – 02 9965 2529/ 0413 378 052
rmckay@nine.com.au


Wednesday, March 15, 2017